The Most Successful Teams in Formula One Racing

Formula One racing is a high-octane sport that has captivated fans for decades. Some of the most successful teams in Formula One history have been those that have managed to maintain a level of consistent excellence over an extended period of time. In this article, we will take a look at some of the most successful teams in Formula One racing, based on their level of success in recent years.

Which automobile has the most victories in formula one racing

There are a lot of teams that have had great success in Formula One racing. Many of these teams have been around for a long time and have had a lot of drivers that have been successful. Here are the teams that have had the most success in Formula One racing.


Ferrari is the most successful team in Formula One racing, with a record 16 Constructors’ Championships and 15 Drivers’ Championships. The team is also nicknamed “The Prancing Horse”, with reference to their logo. Based in Maranello, Italy, Ferrari has participated in every Formula One season since the 1950 Monaco Grand Prix.


McLaren Racing Limited, commonly known as McLaren, is a British Formula One team based at the McLaren Technology Centre in Woking, Surrey. They compete in the FIA Formula One World Championship. The team is currently partnered with Honda and uses Honda engines in their cars.

McLaren Racing was founded in 1963 by New Zealander Bruce McLaren. In the 1970s and 1980s, the team was powered by Ford and then TAG Heuer engines. In 1988, Honda became their engine supplier and they won their first race with Honda power in 1992. After a difficult period in the late 1990s and early 2000s when they struggled with competitiveness and reliability, they returned to winning ways in 2004, winning the Constructors’ Championship (their first since 1998) and Lewis Hamilton becoming their first driver to win the Drivers’ Championship since 1999. They went on to win both championships again in 2005 and 2006. In 2007 they conceded defeat to Ferrari for the first time since 1999; however, they returned to winning ways in 2008 by taking both championships once again; Hamilton thus became Britain’s most successful F1 driver of all-time while McLaren became only the second team after Ferrari to achieve fifty victories at Grand Prix races. From 2009 onwards Mercedes-Benz became their engine supplier, giving them use of the Kinetic Energy Recovery System (KERS). They secured their 100th victory as a constructor at the 2010 Hungarian Grand Prix. By finishing fourth at 2012 United States Grand Prix they secured their 150th podium finish as well as fourth place again in Constructors Championship standings; At Brazilian Grand Prix they secured sixth consecutive World Constructors’ Championship titles equalling achievements set by Ferrari between 1999–2004 seasons inclusive.


Williams is one of the most successful teams in Formula One racing. They have won nine Constructors’ Championships and seven Drivers’ Championships. Their drivers have included some of the sport’s most legendary names, such as Ayrton Senna, Nelson Piquet, Sir Stirling Moss, Nigel Mansell, and Alain Prost. Williams also has a long history of success in other motorsport disciplines, such as IndyCar racing and sports car racing.

Red Bull

Red Bull Racing is an Austrian Formula One racing team based in Milton Keynes, England. It is one of two Formula One teams owned by the Red Bull energy drink company, the other being Scuderia Toro Rosso. The team raced under a British licence from 2005 to 2006 and has raced under an Austrian licence since 2007. The team also uses a Renault engine this season after using Ferrari engines from 2007 to 2018.

The team is currently managed by Christian Horner. Former driver Mark Webber is Red Bull’s current director of racing.

In 2019, Max Verstappen became the youngest driver ever to win a Formula One race when he took victory at the 2019 Austrian Grand Prix at the age of 20 years and 168 days.

The team has been extremely successful in recent years, winning 4 Constructors’ Championships (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013) and 3 Drivers’ Championships (2010, 2011, 2012).

The most successful drivers in Formula One racing

There are many great drivers in the history of Formula One racing. However, there are a few that stand out above the rest. Michael Schumacher is one of the most successful drivers in Formula One racing. He has won seven world championships, which is more than any other driver in history. Sebastian Vettel is another great driver. He has won four world championships and is currently the most successful active driver. Lewis Hamilton is another driver who has had a great career. He has won three world championships and is currently the second most successful active driver.

Michael Schumacher

Michael Schumacher is a retired German racing driver who raced in Formula One for Jordan Grand Prix, Benetton and Ferrari, where he spent the majority of his career, as well as for Mercedes. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest drivers in the history of the sport, and was nicknamed the “Red Baron” due to his significant record in Ferrari’s car.

Schumacher holds many of Formula One’s driver records, including most championships, race victories, fastest laps, pole positions and most races won in a single season – thirteen out of eighteen in 2004. In 2002, he became the only driver in Formula One history to finish in the top three in every race of a season and then went on to set the record for most consecutive podium finishes.

During his ninety-two race wins, Schumacher took 155 podium finishes, more than any other driver in history. He has led 775 laps (more than any other driver), and has completed 5361 laps (more than any other driver). More statistically, Schumacher is also the only driver to average more than one pole position per race!

Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton is a British racing driver who is currently competing in Formula One for Mercedes-AMG Petronas. He is the reigning World Champion, having won his fifth title in 2019. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest drivers in the history of the sport, and has been described as the best of his generation.

Hamilton started out his career in karting, and rapidly progressed through the ranks, winning numerous championships. He made his Formula One debut with McLaren in 2007, and became one of the team’s youngest ever race winners at the age of 22. He moved to Mercedes in 2013, and has since won six World Championships with the team. He is also a two-time winner of the prestigious Monaco Grand Prix, and has won a total of 84 races throughout his career.

Scroll to Top